So I had a thought. There are certain types of people in this world that just seem to be more approachable and less threatening than others. In my opinion (and experience) some people find mothers more approachable. Do you think this is true? Have you ever seen a mother in the store with her children and feel no hesitation to tilt your head to the side, smile and ask her how old they are? You just can't help it. On the flip side, mothers are usually never at a loss of words for their children.
This brings me to another point. Are working mothers less of threat to other working women? Looking back at my pre-baby years I remember thinking that working moms had to rush out of work to hang out with their children that they haven't seen all day - which gave me a chance to "catch up" on work after hours. At that time I didn't have to worry about anyone else in the morning and was able to come in early without too much extra stress and stay late without dealing with the guilt.
Now that I am a working mother, I feel that I have to work ten-times harder at my job to prove myself and ensure people take me seriously. What's my priority?Yes, there are days that I don't make it to work at 8 a.m. because I spend a little extra time with the girls but there are also days where I work through my lunch and stay late to make sure I deliver the best performance I can every chance I get.
If you don't have children, do you view working parents/mothers as less of a threat in the workplace? Why? Be honest. I really want to know.  
Kat Pecora
5/3/2010 02:39:14 pm

While I am not yet in the professional workplace, I have met some amazing working mothers in my life. I feel that working mothers can be as intimidating or even more so than women who are not parents.
Working mothers have an immense sense of strength that they bring to what they do. I am not a mother and I find it intimidating that working mothers are able balance raising their children, work, and everything that comes with life with the grace. I think that becoming a mother is process that can change a woman and can reinforce discipline, time management, prioritizing, and other valuable skills transferable to the workplace.
Those reinforced and practiced skills make working mothers a force to be reckoned with. I also think that sometimes when life gets busy (stress or family obligations), working mothers can appear weak to single women because the mothers don't have as much time for work. I think that can be the misconception that some single women have.

Reply
6/4/2010 07:21:04 pm

I had to comment here because I want to apologize. Not for myself, but to you. In reading some of your blog posts, it's evident that you take your professional career AND your personal life very seriously.
Once I became a mother, it changed me. It changed me in a way that my "job" outside the home...was just that, a job, a chore. Something I have to do to pay for our home-life. I would much rather stay at home with Sam...so I think people definately don't take me as seriously as they did before I became a mom. (But I'm okay with that) That's just me, though. Does that make sense?

Reply
kmb
6/22/2010 10:04:25 am

I'm a little late here in the conversation...but I'm going to comment anyway. I'm not sure what you mean by "threat." Do you mean someone that you compete with in the workplace for promotions? Or do you mean something like work ethic or priorities?
I don't think that mothers who work outside of the home are a "threat," I see them as an essential part of our society and economy. I think that we should actually promote more workplace flexibility when it comes to scheduling, hours, leave, etc. This could encourage mothers who want or need to work to use their talents outside of the home in (hopefully) fulfilling careers. My mother told me that she usually looked forward to work (especially when we were young) because it was a way to stimulate her mind.
That said, each family should do what is best for them. If they are able to and want to be a single-income family more power to them.
I am not a mother yet, but I hope to continue to work outside of the home after I have children because I really enjoy what I do.

I like your blog!

Reply
Kate
6/28/2010 12:48:45 am

KMB - By threat, I mean if you put two women side-by-side and one is a working mother and one is not, does society view the mother more of a risk to the workplace because she will have to take more time off if her children get sick or leave work early to pick them up from daycare or even have to take maternity leave because she wants to continue to grow her family? Sometimes working moms can get discouraged when they see their co-workers excelling faster because they can stay a little later if they need to. I know this is only one side of the story but that's why I love reading comments like yours because you can bring insight that I'm unable to see. Thank you! PS Did I clear things up for you?

Reply
10/6/2010 11:02:22 am

We often say someone is so beautiful, just as praise his/her soul in a degree. Because Courage and resolution are the spirit and soul of virtue. Do you think so?

Reply
10/19/2010 12:37:04 pm

Body will be bathed in a drop of rain, the sun ray will be a thorough heart of life and more like the attitude that ah! We should have a thankful heart.

Reply
Kat Pecora
11/19/2010 01:37:05 am

The more you do the more people realize you can do and push more work on you...I wish I could pretend to be ignorant and under the radar..

Reply
6/25/2012 06:08:54 pm

<a href=http://www.wholesale-lingerie.cn/Sexy-swimwear-cl115.shtml>Wholesale Sexy Bikini</a> is available in countless designs and also the ideal types are individuals which fit your system framework and shape. Bikini padded tops are chosen by girls with more compact breasts. Welcome to visit Dear Lover <a href=http://www.wholesale-lingerie.cn>Wholesale Lingerie China</a> and pick the suitable swimsuits and sexy swimwear for the coming hot sexy summer season.

Reply



Leave a Reply.