On Saturday, Feb. 20, something horrible happened that rocked a community to its core. Four local high school girls were in a car accident that caused one of them, Natalie Bolin, to lose her life. You never realize how small and connected our world is until something like this happens.

I was driving home from Appleton on Saturday night when I noticed police lights on the side of the highway. Only one officer was at the site but traffic had slowed down considerably. I said a quick prayer: "Dear God please let everyone be okay". I took a mental inventory of where my family members were supposed to be and called my husband to let him know I was running late due to traffic.

Fast forward to Sunday morning: Rob and I struggled to get the girls to church on time and squeezed through the doors to sink into our pew in the back of the church. The sermon topic was on death and how lucky we are to have eternal life after our time on earth has ended. My thoughts started drifting to people in my life who have passed away. I think about little Dylan Tritt who was called Home just two weeks prior.

Monday morning: I stop by my mom's office on the way to work and my dad is there (he works third shift and stops by to say Hi before he goes home to bed). They both start telling me about a friend of theirs who's daughter died in a car accident on Saturday night. I told them I saw the accident shortly after it happened. My heart sank as I pictured the hitch from the trailer sticking straight up in the air and wished I would've prayed harder.

Monday afternoon: I joined Natalie's facebook page before I had to meet a colleague about some advertising opportunities. The colleague told me that her daughter was a classmate of Natalie's and described how overwhelmingly sad the memorial service was on Sunday evening. It's amazing how a community pulls together to support the families and each other.

Tuesday morning: I finally found some time to pull up Natalie's facebook and couldn't believe the posts on her wall. I scrolled through some of the photo albums and although my heart was warmed by her smile my eyes burned with tears. An hour later I was meeting with another co-worker and Jeff Schneider from the YMCA about the Oshkosh Dragonboat Race & Festival. Inevitably the meeting ended in a conversation about the accident and Jeff told us that the other girls are recovering. What a relief! My co-worker has a daughter on the children's swim team and was amazed at how well the swim coach explained the situation to the young children on Monday night.

Although I didn't personally know Natalie, the last couple days have taught me that she was a remarkable young girl with a big heart. Her active role in the community impacted several thousand people in Oshkosh - both directly and indirectly. 

As a new mother, I love to learn from other moms who can offer support and advice. I would like to dedicate this post to Mrs. Bolin for being a true supermom. Although Natlie's time on this earth was short, it certainly didn't go unnoticed. Her accomplishments and work ethic were a direct result of how she was raised and I admire you for that.

My family and I will continue to pray for you, your daughters and the other families affected by this tragedy.
2/26/2010 12:25:37 am

I was on my way home, in Madison, after a weekend at my mom's house near Green Bay when she told me of Natalie's death. My cousin was with her that day and was in the car just five minutes behind her. As I drove past the spot my heart skipped a beat.
My heart skips a beat now thinking of Natalie's family and my cousin. I am older now with kids but every so often I think about my own friend that I lost in high school and my heart breaks for all that know Natalie.
I didn't know Natalie but in some small way she has touched me. Thank you for providing a small place for me to voice my feelings- and it is always nice to meet a fellow WI blogger. :)

Reply
Mom
2/26/2010 01:53:03 am

My dear Katie... you've touched on feelings that only a mother can feel. Each time our children walk out the door, get into a car... the words ring out "drive safe"...with the "ya..ya..." response from the child. As much as we'd like to put you in a glass box, we all have to let you live your lives. Natalie has done that and she will live on in the lives of the thousands who loved her. As you said, her short life has touched so many.

Reply
anonymous
2/26/2010 05:50:43 am

I may not have personally know natalie but honestly i consider her a inspiration. she has taught me to live life to the fullest because you dont get a second chance. I actually attend the school she did and alot of my friends knew her. I regret never geetting the chance to know her because honestly there has not been one bad thing said about her. Everyone tells me she was always a happy,bright person and that she always had a smile on her face. They also say she was a very talented person and she could do almost anything. I still find it unfair that god took her life away at such a young age but, shes in a better place and i guarentee she makes a beautiful angel. When i look around school i notice how many peoples lives she impacted. almost everyone was wearing purple today because it was her favoite color she even had a basketball game played in her honor. Although I did not attend her funeral alot of my friends that did said it was absolutley beautiful and im glad because she definatley deserved it. although she lived a short life here on earth she will always be in our hearts. oshkosh west may never be the same without her but, atleast we can remember the good memories she brought to our school. Rest in peace Natalie you will be missed by many.

Reply
we love you <3
2/27/2010 12:21:06 pm

i was on the swim team with natalie for 5 or 6 years and i had seen her, jenn, rachel and leah that saturday down in madison because it was swimming state for us high school boys. we had passed the accident on the way home and had no idea it was them. i got a phone call at 1130 that night from a friend who told me what happened...my heart sank and i felt empty. that sunday we went and visited rachel in the hospital and it helped a little bit. over the past week we had done alot of team bonding and are remembering natalie every day we swim. we all miss you natalie and wish that this hadnt happened. happy birthday <3

Reply
10/20/2010 05:33:04 pm

The journey of life there are many, Are also well, Who are busy day for harvest, Can harvest has also bitter sweet. Both are rich people are poor, Jack is difficult to buy fitness, So I hope you always happy.

Reply
10/25/2010 07:05:18 pm

A crane discount for you,Let trouble from you, One thousand rose to you, Let you love yourself, One thousand lucky stars to you, Let the good luck surround you, A thousand COINS happy for you, Let you find time to be in a good mood.

Reply
11/1/2010 06:10:38 pm

The man who has made up his mind to win will never say "impossible".

Reply
11/4/2010 12:51:22 pm

By carefully thinking and planning, with adequate courage and confidence, we have no reason to fail.

Reply
11/26/2010 11:43:22 am

The foundation of a good marriage is mutual trust,Marriage is a life of sharing,happy Wedding day!

Reply
12/5/2010 05:15:34 pm

Thank you for taking the time to publish this information very useful!

Reply
2/20/2011 02:09:29 pm

How excellent together with lovely it appears to be! That is my fortune to read of the valuable stuff through your blog.I am often interested in the so pretty and trend stuff related to the clothing and sports shoes.Thus hope to exchange with you upon the nervous work.

Reply
2/21/2011 10:13:43 am

Experience is not interesting till it begins to repeat itself, in fact, till it does that ,it hardly is experience.

Reply
2/24/2011 08:41:38 am

The universe is beautiful, because god is love, The flowers are beautiful, because some leaves of love, The blue sky is beautiful,Because there BaiYunZhi love. Earth is beautiful, Because have friends love! My wishes through space sent to you!

Reply
2/28/2011 09:21:23 am

you can find what you want to in here,make your life full of color ,it's a perfect website.

Reply
7/10/2012 01:25:29 am

When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new feedback are added- checkbox and now every time a remark is added I get four emails with exactly the same comment. Is there any approach you will be able to remove me from that service? Thanks!

Reply
7/15/2012 03:57:45 am

What a lovely weblog page. I will undoubtedly be back once more. Please maintain writing!

Reply
7/16/2012 11:37:20 am

THX for info

Reply
7/18/2012 03:05:31 am

I truly don�t accept as true with this blog post. Nevertheless, I did looked in Yahoo and I've found out that you are correct and I was thinking inside the improper way. Carry on publishing great quality material like this.

Reply



Leave a Reply.