These last two years have been a complete whirlwind for my husband and I. From having our first daughter to selling our house, getting pregnant again (when Samantha was only 11 months old) and moving into our dream home I think we've experienced every possible emotion a couple could go through in both happy and stressful times.

Samantha just turned two on December 19 and I can't believe we are already a family of four! After I had Claire and was on maternity leave I thought I would be able to savor every minute with both of my girls. But instead, I ended up frazzled, short-tempered and rigid.

As parents, why do we become so self-absorbed in our expectations with our children/job/life and not just live in the moment?

I've decided to quit looking ahead and focus on what is happening right now. I laugh, have more patience with Samantha and end up sitting with Claire and staring at her for hours! I think my marriage has definitely benefited from this as well. As a new parent of two children I am slowly learning how to split time for myself with time for Rob and both of the girls.

On a side note, my husband bought me an Amazon Kindle and this has greatly helped me increase my "me time". I look forward to reading at night after the girls go to bed and it allows me to feel good and focus on them every second I can after I get home from work.

It's been a healthy move for everyone.



Leave a Reply.